Purchased Lounger Sofa Bed #VW66982 from Midnight Velvet Online Catalog in 2006, moved last year, requested replacement hardware and instructions to re-assemble furniture - useless without instruction

57 of 89 Midnight Velvet reviews

Update added by user Oct 06, 2013

Parent Company of Midnight Velvet is Colony Brands, Inc.

Original review posted by user Oct 06, 2013

8/16/2013

Dear Customer Service:

I purchased the lounger sofa bed from your online store, and have since moved. I can't figure out how to put it together again. I also may be missing a few of the screws. Is it possible to get a kit of screws and assembly instructions for this sofa?

Thank You,

K. B.

-------------------------------------

8/18/2013

Thank you for contacting Customer Service.

We need more information to be able to correctly find your order.

Please provide the full name and address in which your order was placed. Also, note any item numbers that you had on the order.

We will await your reply.

Sincerely,

Midnight Velvet Customer Service

-------------------------------------

8/18/2013

Dear Customer Service:

It's interesting that I must first jump through hoops to prove that I am your customer before you offer any assistance with your products, given that I'm not asking to return the sofa or to replace anything. The exact same lounger sofa bed is featured in your current online catalog. Why do you need to "find" my order? I purchased the lounger from your company a few years ago; I don't have a specific item number. My name is K. B., the address was in xxxxxxx. The sofa came with the white slip covers, I also purchased the complete red slip covers. I am simply asking for assembly instructions and information on whether a nut/bolts kit for this sofa is available for purchase.

Thank You,

K. B.

------------------------------------------------

8/19/2013

Thank you for contacting Customer Service.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused you.

Please provide your full name and address, so we may further assist you.

We also need to know which Lounger Sofa Bed before we can send you any instructions.

We will await your reply.

Sincerely,

Midnight Velvet Customer Service

----------------------------------------------

8/19/2013

Ad From 2013 Midnight Velvet Catalog:

Three exotic looks in one! Explore endless design options with our updated version of the classic futon. Solid wood frame can be lifted to form a two- or one-arm sofa, or open flat as an elegant bed or lounger. Includes four plush pillows (18" sq.), lounge cushion (79" l x 32" w) and fixed back frame (61" l x 30 1/2" w x 25 3/4" h). Dry clean cushion and pillows. Assembly required.

Lounger Sofa Bed #VW66982

The lounger sofa I purchased is currently featured in your catalog.

K.B.

------------------------------------------

8/19/2013

Thank you for contacting Customer Service.

Please provide us with the address in which we may ship the instructions and hardware to.

We will await your reply.

Sincerely,

Midnight Velvet Customer Service

----------------------------------------------

I sent the address in the previous email.

K.B

----------------------------------------------

8/19/2013

Thank you for contacting Customer Service.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused you. In order to send you instructions and hardware for the Lounger Sofa Bed, we need to have an order number for reference. We are unable to show that you have ever placed an order with us. If you have an account or order number that you can provide, we can further assist you.

We will await your reply.

Sincerely,

Midnight Velvet Customer Service

--------------------------------------------

8/20/13

Customer Service,

I purchased the sofa in 2006 or 2007. Is it reasonable for you to expect me to have an order number from 2006 or 2007? What I don't understand is why you won't accept that I purchased the product from your online catalog. Is this lounger sofa available from other vendors? I don't know, but if I had purchased it somewhere, I now believe it would be much easier to contact them for what I need, and I would be treated as a valued customer. WHY would I contact you if I wasn't your customer?

I don't have an order number from 2006. If you refuse to provide the assembly instructions and details about a hardware kit for purchase, then I have a piece of furniture that I can no longer use because I have no way to put it together. Please be assured that I am very unhappy with your customer service, and I will NEVER shop with MV again!

K. B.

--------------------------------------

8/20/2013

Thank you for contacting Customer Service.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused you. I am a Supervisor, and in order for us to send parts for an item we would need to have an active order in our system, as we sell our items at warehouse sales and outlet stores, and those items are sold as is. Please provide the name and address that the order was placed under.

I will await your reply.

Sincerely,

Midnight Velvet Customer Service

---------------------------------------------

8/20/2013

Certainly I would know if I purchased this sofa from an outlet or warehouse, and then I would simply go to them to ask for assistance. I DID NOT - I purchased the couch directly from the MV website. Furthermore, even if any item is sold "as is", what do you lose by mailing a sheet of paper containing assembly instructions? I also stated I would PAY for a hardware kit. Where is the loss to your business here? WHY is this so hard? I'm not asking you to take the couch back, I'm not asking for ANYTHING of any real monetary value! WHY can't you understand that losing a customer who will strongly discourage family and friends from shopping with MV precisely because of the way this company treats customers AFTER THE SALE is what is at stake? Is the cost of postage worth losing my business?

K.B.

---------------------------------------------------

8/28/2013

Customer Service,

Could you please advise me if you can and will send the assembly instructions for the futon I purchased from you? Can you also let me know about purchasing the hardware kit?

K. B.

-------------------------------------------------

8/29/2013

Thank you for contacting Customer Service.

We do not sell replacement parts, and are not able to send the Instructions for the item until we have an active order.

We hope this information is helpful to you.

Sincerely,

Midnight Velvet Customer Service

This review is a subjective opinion of a user.
Report Comment Private message author

More Review Details

Monetary loss:
$399
Product or service
Lounger Sofa Bed
Review category
Furniture and Decor
review #451336 by
Had an experience with Midnight Velvet? Submit review ›
Helpful? 11 Yes 11 2 No 2
Had the same issue 0 Yes 0
57 of 89 Midnight Velvet reviews
Comment as anonymous As anonymous or Log in
OR Is it your business? Respond to your
customers as verified company representative.
Apply for a Free Plan
Anonymous

Nov 24, 2015 #1069286

Jesus Christ!!
So funny X)

0 0 Reply
Anonymous

Nov 08, 2015 #1060420

This is hysterical. It sounds like an SNL skit! Of course if is not at all funny for the consumer.
Are these people missing a screw or two? Like you futon.
I certainly will never buy from them. Thanks for the heads up.

1 0 Reply
bootsie

Dec 30, 2014 #923187 Bemidji, Minnesota, United States

Unbelievable!! How obstinate they are. I am perplexed as to why they were so unwilling to help. I dont get the mentality. Is this business from a different country? Your situation brought a whole new prospective to the complaint section, thank you for sharing. Their mind set is just really greedy.

0 0 Reply
fedup cs

Sep 14, 2014 #869839 La Pine, Oregon, United States

Just because you sent them an Item # doesn't mean they know who the purchaser is. If you were to contact any other company, even if you bought it at Wal-Mart, they wouldn't be able to get you replacement parts. Maybe you shouldn't have lost the parts. It should be up to you to figure it out, or contact the manufacturer. Or, you should have kept your order number, and the problem probably would have been a lot easier. Companies go down because of people like you. Keep track of your ***, and you wouldn't have this problem.

0 0 Reply
evenhigherexpectations

Oct 07, 2013 #726358 The Hague, South Holland, Netherlands

They clearly stated the reason for asking you for info: "We need more information to be able to correctly find your order." Then you got testy and came back with your "jumping through hoops" comment. All they asked for was more info to find your order and ship you what they already included and you lost. You became uncooperative. They still tried to help after that. Your attitude seems to be the issue. YOU are expecting THEM to "jump through hoops"

2 0 Reply
estudia

Oct 07, 2013 #726363

Again, your mouth has flown open and ignorant babbling gushes forth. It seems you don't have the sense to comprehend what was written about the issue. Get a clue; or try trolling elsewhere.

0 1 Reply
highexpectations

Oct 07, 2013 #726283 The Hague, South Holland, Netherlands

You were not at all helpful to them. How are they supposed to send something if they don't know what you purchased? Then when they asked for an address, instead of providing one, you told them it was in the previous email. How hard would it have been to write your address again? As hard as telling them you already did? Right away you got nasty, talking about jumping through hoops to prove you were a customer. That's not what they needed - they are trying to figure out what to send you that YOU lost! What a tool!

2 1 Reply
estudia

Oct 07, 2013 #726290

Perhaps if you could READ, you would understand the post! I did in fact re-send the shipping address, which is noted in my post. The header of the post also includes the item number which identifies what I purchased (Lounger Sofa Bed #VW66982). I suppose if you took the time to read AND comprehend the issue, you would not be so quick to speak when you have NO CLUE what you're talking about.

0 1 Reply
Great comment! Would you like to convert it into review?

You will be able to edit the text before publishing.

× You are about to contact PissedConsumer.com

Review submitted through "Contact Us" will not get published on the site or forwarded to Midnight Velvet. However, many companies do monitor reviews on our site.

 
×
You were reading a complaint about Midnight Velvet.
Filing a new complaint about
×